Skip to main content Skip to navigation

About the Team

The Pacific Northwest Vegetable Extension Group includes members from the University of Idaho, Oregon State University, Washington State University and USDA-ARS. Specialists contribute their expertise in plant pathology, horticulture, and entomology.

The Pacific Northwest Vegetable Extension Group received the 2012 Interdisciplinary Team award from the WSU College of Agriculture, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences (CAHNRS); from left, Carol Miles (horticulturist), Dan Bernardo (CAHNRS Dean), Debbie Inglis (plant pathologist), and Lindsey du Toit (plant pathologist).
The Pacific Northwest Vegetable Extension Group received the 2012 Interdisciplinary Team award from the WSU College of Agriculture, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences (CAHNRS); from left, Carol Miles (horticulturist), Dan Bernardo (CAHNRS Dean), Debbie Inglis (plant pathologist), and Lindsey du Toit (plant pathologist).

Lindsey du Toit (dutoit@wsu.edu), WSU Vegetable Seed Pathologist, 360-848-6140, Debbie Inglis (dainglis@wsu.edu), WSU Vegetable Pathologist, 360-848-6134, and Carol Miles (milesc@wsu.edu and http://vegetables.wsu.edu/), WSU Horticulturist, 360-848-6150, at the WSU Mount Vernon NWREC co-lead the team. Other members are:

Chris Benedict (chrisbenedict@wsu.edu), Extension Educator, Washington State University Extension, Whatcom Co., 360-676-6736, http://whatcom.wsu.edu/

Mike Bush (bushm@wsu.edu), WSU Extension Educator, Tree fruit and vegetable crops, WSU Yakima County Extension, 509-574-1600 (office) or 509-833-1669 (mobile)

Robert Cating (robert.cating@oregonstate.edu), OSU Plant Pathology Research Technician, Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center, 541-567-8321,http://oregonstate.edu/Dept/hermiston/

Jeremy Cowan (jeremy.cowan@wsu.edu), WSU Regional Extension Horticulture Specialist, Vegetable horticulture, high tunnels, and biodegradable plastic mulch, Washington State University Spokane County Extension, 509-477-2145,http://spokane-county.wsu.edu/

Mike Derie (derie@wsu.edu), WSU Scientific Assistant in the Vegetable Seed Pathology Program (with Dr. Lindsey du Toit), WSU Mount Vernon NWREC, 360-848-6141

Jeremiah Dung (Jeremiah.Dung@oregonstate.edu), OSU Assistant Professor, Department of Botany and Plant Pathology, OSU Madras COARC, 850 NW Dogwood Lane, Madras, OR 97741, 541-475-7107

Ken Frost (kenneth.frost@oregonstate.edu), Assistant Professor and Extension Plant Pathologist, Department of Botany and Plant Pathology, Oregon State University Hermiston Agricultural Research & Extension Center, 2121 South 1st Street, Hermiston, OR 97838. 541-567-8321 x105, http://bpp.oregonstate.edu/

Jenny Glass (jennyglass@wsu.edu), WSU Plant Diagnostician, WSU Puyallup REC, 253-445-4582, http://www.puyallup.wsu.edu/plantclinic/

Babette Gundersen (gunde@wsu.edu), WSU Agricultural Research Technologist, WSU Mount Vernon NWREC, 360-848-6135

Phil Hamm (Philip.B.Hamm@oregonstate.edu), OSU Extension Plant Pathologist, Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center, 541-567-8321 ext 110,http://oregonstate.edu/Dept/hermiston/

Don McMoran (donaldm@co.skagit.wa.us), WSU Extension Agriculture and Natural Resources Educator, WSU Extension Skagit County, 360-428-4270 ext. 225

Krishna Mohan (kmohan@uidaho.edu), University of Idaho Parma R&E Center, 208-722-6701 ext 218, http://www.uidaho.edu/cals/pses/faculty/plantsciencedivision/s,-d-,krishnamohan

Hanu Pappu (hrp@wsu.edu), WSU Virologist, WSU Pullman, 509-335-3752, http://plantpath.wsu.edu/people/faculty/pappu/pappu.htm

Ed Peachey (peacheye@hort.oregonstate.edu), OSU weed scientist/horticulturist, Corvallis, OR, 541-737-3152, http://hort.oregonstate.edu/faculty-staff/peachey

Ross Penhallegon (ross.penhallegon@oregonstate.edu), OSU horticulturist located in Eugene, OR. Ross covers Lane, Linn and Benton Counties of OR, with responsibilities for extension work on nuts, tree fruits, berries, and vegetables; plus greenhouse, organic production and water quality issues. 541-682-7313

Lyndon Porter (lporter@pars.ars.usda.gov), USDA-ARS Research Plant Pathologist, WSU Prosser IAREC, 509-786-9237

Melodie Putnam (putnamm@science.oregonstate.edu), Director, Oregon State University Plant Clinic, 1089 Cordley Hall, 2701 SW Campus Way, Corvallis, OR 97331-2903, 541-737-3472, http://plant-clinic.bpp.oregonstate.edu/

Naidu Rayapati (naidu@mail.prosser.wsu.edu), WSU Virologist, WSU Prosser IAREC, 509-786-2226

Stuart Reitz (Stuart.reitz@oregonstate.edu), Professor and Extension Faculty, Cropping Systems, Department of Crop and Soil Science, Malheur County Extension, Oregon State University, (541) 881-1417, http://extension.oregonstate.edu/malheur/

Silvia Rondon (silvia.rondon@oregonstate.edu), OSU Assistant Professor and Extension Entomologist, Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center, 541-567-8321,http://oregonstate.edu/potatoes/ipm/,http://cropandsoil.oregonstate.edu/entomology_lab/

Mike Thornton (miket@uidaho.edu), UI Superintendent, Southwest Idaho R&E Centers, 208-722-6701 ext 211

Tim Waters (twaters@wsu.edu), WSU Area Extension Educator, WSU Benton/Franklin County Extension, 509-545-3511

Erik Wenninger (erikw@uidaho.edu), Assistant Professor, Department of Plant, Soil and Entomological Sciences, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, University of Idaho, Kimberly Research & Extension Center, 3806 N 3600 E, Kimberly, ID 83341-5076. (208) 423-6677, http://www.uidaho.edu/cals/pses.aspx

Carrie Wohleb (cwohleb@wsu.edu), WSU Extension Educator, Horticultural crops, including potatoes, vegetables and vegetable seed crops, WSU Grant & Adams Counties Extension, 509-754-2011 ext 413

Original members of the ‘WSU Vegetable Pathology Team’ initiated in 2001, which expanded into the tri-state ‘PNW Vegetable Extension Group’. Back row (l-r): Debra Inglis, Carol Miles, Ellen Bentley, Dyvon Havens, Erik Sorensen, Babette Gundersen, and Gary Pelter. Front row (l-r): Jenny Glass and Lindsey du Toit.
Original members of the ‘WSU Vegetable Pathology Team’ initiated in 2001, which expanded into the tri-state ‘PNW Vegetable Extension Group’. Back row (l-r): Debra Inglis, Carol Miles, Ellen Bentley, Dyvon Havens, Erik Sorensen, Babette Gundersen, and Gary Pelter.
Front row (l-r): Jenny Glass and Lindsey du Toit.